Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program


Arkansas Youth Shooting Sports Program (AYSSP) is a shotgun program that was started by the Arkansas Game and Fish to teach youth to shoot trap. It is for youth 6-12 grade. The AYSSP is designed for schools and other groups such as 4-H and other youth groups. There are approximately 6,000 kids from across the state that participate in the program. The Drew County Teams are a mix of Monticello AYSSP and 4-H. Some shooters travel from Rison as there is not a team in Cleveland Co. The group also works with some 4-H youth that are below 6th grade in preparation for when they are old enough to join the group. Under the AYSSP, the program is divided into a Jr division 6-8 grades and Sr division 9-12 grades. Scholarships are awarded to the top three teams in each division. The local AYSSP group consists of Adrian Ratliff; Emelia Montgomery; John Montgomery; William Leslie; Drew Tadel; Landon Moorlane; Gage Cater; Ayden Cochron; Piper Forrest; Ada Ratliff; Zainly Witcher and Ava Hargis.


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here